Dark Chocolate Muffins

Dark Chocolate Chip Muffins

Dark Chocolate Chip Muffins

Wow, it’s been such a long time since I’ve written a post! It’s scary how life just runs away with you… I’ve had a lot less time to experiment with my cooking, but have a lots of little posts to write up. This is the first of many!

I work in the charity sector and we have amazing young people who volunteer their time to support those you are less fortunate than themselves. They travel to the UK from other countries; Germany, Armenia and Sweden, to volunteer for a year before they start their university degrees. During this time, they are full time volunteers and we get to know them very well. It’s always sad to see them go!

These muffins were made as part of their leaving celebrations. As I have been very busy at work, I hadn’t prepared in advance by shopping for the ingredients for some fancier cakes. I had a root around the cupboards and found some dark chocolate, so decided to make some chocolate ‘chip’ muffins.

Dark Chocolate Chip Muffins

Dark Chocolate Chip Muffins

It’s been such a while since I made them, I have forgotten the exact recipe I used… but it went a little something like this:

Ingredients

  • 250g plain flour
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 175ml milk
  • 75ml vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 125g dark chocolate chips

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 200 C. Line a 12 hole muffin tin with paper cases.
  2. In a bowl mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, chocolate chips and salt.
  3. In a jug combine milk, oil and egg, add to the dry ingredients all at once and stir until just combined.
  4. Fill cases 2/3 full  and bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until skewer inserted in centre comes out clean.
Chocolate Chip Muffins

Chocolate Chip Muffins

I have to admit, I’m not a huge fan of this recipe, although it may be because I used dark chocolate and there isn’t much sugar in the batter do I found it all quite bitter. I’m also not a fan of dark chocolate! 🙂

Dark Chocolate Chip Muffins

Dark Chocolate Chip Muffins

However the muffin was light and it’s quite a straight forward and simple recipe to follow. I’ll have to try them again with come milk chocolate next time! 😀

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Muffins

Leave a Reply

