Lemon Drizzle and Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Lemon Drizzle and Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Lemon Drizzle and Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Anyone who is familiar with my previous cake posts know I admit to being a terrible cake decorator! This cake is no exception… 🙂

It was my sister’s birthday in early June and I offered to make a cake. We were undecided whether to have a lemon drizzle cake or a carrot cake, so I made both! I also wanted to try out a new cake tin that I’d bought a while ago so ended up making a two tier cake of a strangely uneven size…

Lemon Drizzle and Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream Cheese Frosting with Chocolate Drizzle and Gold Accents

Another recent purchase of mine has been a metallic gold edible ink pen. So just to add a little bling, I decided it was time to try it out. I quite liked the results, although my sister who is the least ‘blingy’ person I know thought it was a bit over the top! 😀

Lemon Drizzle and Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Lemon Drizzle and Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

for both layers of the cake I used Mary Berry recipes from her book ‘Mary Berry’s Baking Bible’. I previously posted a post using the carrot cake recipe that I had used to make cupcakes and the lemon drizzle cake recipe is a firm favourite of mine. As the cake tin for the lemon cake was only 18cm, I used half amount of ingredients stated in the recipe.

Lemon Drizzle and Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Lemon Drizzle and Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

The cream cheese frosting worked very well with both cakes and the bitter dark chocolate drizzle on top was added a tiny contrast to counteract all that sugar!

Lemon Drizzle and Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Lemon Drizzle and Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Let the experimenting continue… 😀

4 thoughts on “Lemon Drizzle and Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Leave a Reply

