Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

Carrot Cake Cupcakes

Carrot Cake Cupcakes

I made these cupcakes to take to a friend’s house as she had invited me for a traditional Ugandan meal. I like to take some cake whenever I visit friends for dinner. Firstly because it means that the dessert is sorted out, and secondly because making the effort to bake is nicer than buying it from a shop! 🙂

So my friend had made some heavy hints that her favourite cake is carrot cake (she basically told me and said ‘hint hint’ afterwards! LOL!) I was intending on making a large cake to share but I ran out of time earlier in the day so decided to make cup cakes to save on baking time.

The recipe I used was one of Mary Berry’s from her cook book ‘Mary Berry’s Baking Bible‘. It’s the carrot cake recipe I always go back to as I always get amazing feedback from people, even those who ‘don’t really like carrot cake’. It’s a very simple ‘all in one’ recipe. I think the secret behind it’s success is the use of mashed ripe bananas, maybe it should be called a Carrot and Banana Cake instead?! 🙂

Carrot Cupcake

Carrot Cupcake

Ingredients

  • 225g self-raising flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 150g light muscovado sugar
  • 50g walnut pieces, chopped
  • 100g carrots, coarsely grated
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 2 eggs
  • 150ml sunflower oil

Frosting

  • 250g cream cheese
  • 2 tps vanilla extract
  • 2 tbs icing sugar
  • walnut halves, for decorating

I used this exact recipe for making the cupcakes and its worked out fine. If making one large cake, then bake for 1 hour at 180 degrees C. I bakes the cupcakes for 15-20 minutes at the same temperature. Cupcakes also cool quicker so I could frost them quite quickly. I’m not a big fan of buttercream frosting for cupcakes, it’s usually far too sweet and really bad for the waistline! So a cream cheese frosting is a great alternative. 😀

Carrot Cake Cupcakes

Carrot Cake Cupcakes

One thought on “Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

Leave a Reply

