Cauliflower and Broccoli Cheese Bake

Cauliflower Broccoli Cheese Bake

Cauliflower Broccoli Cheese Bake

This Cauliflower and Broccoli Cheese recipe was made to go along with the ‘Toad in the Hole’ and onion gravy, making an all round comfort eating dinner for a dreary British day! I’m not particularly good at cooking traditional ‘British’ foods, or a lover of them as I like lots of spice! However Good ingredients cooked well will always shine through, so I grabbed a couple of heads of broccoli and a cauliflower and got to work… I was attracted to this recipe as the broccoli is actually blended into the creamy cheese sauce, giving it a lovely vibrant colour and extra flavour. I also liked the idea of giving it a crispy top by using bread crumbs and almonds. (I decided to skip the breadcrumbs this time as the meal contained a lot of carbohydrate already!)

Cauliflower Broccoli Cheese

Cauliflower Broccoli Cheese

The cheese sauce has a lovely green colour as there is a whole head of broccoli blitzed into it. The toasted almonds on top added a nice nutty taste and some much needed texture to the dish too! πŸ™‚

I’m not a big fan of cauliflower as I find it quite watery and tasteless as a vegetable. However I think it works as a carrier of flavours, and have recently seen some great Β recipes for cauliflower curries. As you can see, I’m still leaning towards foods with lots of spice! πŸ˜‰

12 thoughts on “Cauliflower and Broccoli Cheese Bake

  1. I’m right there with you concerning cauliflower. I would definitely like this dish though. You can’t go wrong with broccoli and cheese.

    • I suppose it is a gratin! It’s got a roux base and lots of cheese but no cream… Maybe that would be a nice addition though… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

