Vegetarian Moussaka

Vegetarian Moussaka

Vegetarian Moussaka

My sister recently passed on her panini grill when she was clearing up some kitchen worktop space, so I took it to clutter up my kitchen just that little bit more! After a couple of weeks of too many grilled cheese sandwiches, it suddenly occurred to me that I could probably use it to grill other things… So the experiments began…

Firstly I sprayed the grill plate with a little oil then cracked an egg on it, it worked a treat! The grill was so hot that it fried the egg in super quick time and with hardly any oil needed. Eggs, sunny side up with lots of black pepper. Winner!

Eggs fried on a panini grill

Eggs fried on a panini grill

Moving onto the next experiment, I spied a couple of aubergines and figured that I would give them a try too. Usually grilling aubergines requires a lot of oil. But with my handy spray bottle of cooking oil and my new multi-purpose grill, the sliced aubergine cooked in no time as it cooked from the top and bottom at the same time!

Grilled Aubergine on a panini grill

Grilled Aubergine on a Panini Grill

So whilst the aubergines were happily grilling away I cooked up the rest of the mousakka dish. As I am looking at reducing my animal protein intake I bought a bag of Quorn ‘Mince’. I’ve used Quorn products before when I was a vegetarian and don’t think it tastes too bad, especially when cooked with lots of strong flavours. I guess it’s a ‘flavour carrier’ like tofu/bean-curd!

The ‘mince’ was cooked up with chopped onions, tomatoes, courgette, peppers, mixed herbs and lots of garlic. I added some extra tomato paste and let it simmer for 10 minutes.

Grilled Aubergine with Quorn Mince

Grilled Aubergine with Quorn Mince

To make the moussaka I layered up the filling and grilled aubergines alternately then topped the whole dish with a bechamel sauce and plenty of grated cheddar and black pepper.

Vegetarian Mousakka

Vegetarian Moussaka- cheesy cheesy goodness!

After inspiring such a lovely dish, the panini grill has earned it’s permanent place in the kitchen, next to the bread maker and food mixer. Now where do I move the kettle to?… 😉

Vegetarian Moussaka

Vegetarian Moussaka- melted cheesy goodness!

8 thoughts on “Vegetarian Moussaka

Leave a Reply

